1. Hey guyz. Welcome to the All New Phlatforum!

The Phlatforum is a place we can all hang out and

have fun sharing our RC adventures!

2. Dismiss Notice

Perforator-style foam cutting head

Discussion in 'General Talk Forum' started by dkj4linux, Jun 2, 2012.

1. dkj4linux

dkj4linux New Member

Newbie here... an idea for a simple foam cutter that I borrowed from "A Foam Cutting Machine by Tom McWire" (http://www.instructables.com/id/TFsc46j ... 2snUMXxQx/). I don't have a Phlatprinter but believe that the idea could be readily adapted to almost any overhead gantry machine. I've lurked in this forum for a while and gotten lots of great info and ideas but seen little or no info on perforator-type heads for CNC machines. So in the spirit of giving back...

I've built several incarnations and construction is straight-forward. It's quiet and clean, the kerf is narrow, and well-fitted tabs and slots are easily realized. I've used it to cut foam and light cardboard primarily.

For this particular machine I've used a DC motor stripped from an HP inkjet printer, a small ball-bearing mounted eccentrically on an aluminum disk pressed onto the motor shaft, a flexible length of .025" Mig wire looped around and resting in a shallow groove ground into the outer race of the ball-bearing, and the business-end stabber guided by an inflation needle with its closed tip ground off and pressed into the bottom plate. A 12v power "brick" provides sufficient RPM's to "cut" cleanly and completely at the 24 IPM my machine. The stroke is a little over 1/2 inch.

Hopefully it'll give someone some ideas. I'll be glad to answer questions if there is any interest. Attached files [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

2. rcav8r

rcav8r Moderator Staff Member

That's pretty darned cool. Who would have guessed that that would work at all let alone as well as it appears to. Limits you to soft materials, but you need a less sturdy structure so the cost should be a lot less.