1. Hey guyz. Welcome to the All New Phlatforum!

The Phlatforum is a place we can all hang out and

have fun sharing our RC adventures!

2. Dismiss Notice

A few FFF Questions

Discussion in 'Trouble Shooting - Support - Help Section' started by rcav8r, Feb 14, 2009.

1. rcav8r

rcav8r Moderator Staff Member

OK I have to admit I'm new to this FFF stuff. Been building w/ balsa for almost too many years to count. I built an 8' C123 out of 2" foam as my first foam build project, and covered it with glass, and painted it.
    Now I'm using FFF, and have a few questions that may seem rather basic for some.

How in the heck do you get the black writing off? I tried 90% rubbing alcohol and all it does is smear it. I'm afraid to try anything more aggressive as to not dissolve the foam. When I built the C123 it was glassed and painted so that wasn't an issue.

What glue do you guys use? I was thinking hot melt, but was afraid it would add too much weight. When I built my Formosa ( one of my all time favorite airplanes BTW) I used white glue, but really don't want to wait that long. When I built the C123, I used epoxy sparingly, but due to it's size weight really wasn't a concern, but is epoxy too heavy for the smaller FFF stuff?
    I'm not a big fan of foam safe CA for general building as I've found it to be too brittle.

THANKS in advance.

2. Anonymous

Anonymous New Member

1) When you figure that out, tell the rest of us. The best I've ever done is dim the black a lot with denatured alcohol and a Scotch-brite pad. A good coat of opaque paint works best. ;)

2) I like the Ultimate RC Foam Safe Glue the best, but Low-Temp hot-glue works great also. Remember, this is foam, so the construction methods are based around "flexible and light", not "strong and rigid" like balsa models.

3. Jnida63

Jnida63 Member

Yeah protection board sucks for getting lettering off of.