1. Hey guyz. Welcome to the All New Phlatforum!

The Phlatforum is a place we can all hang out and

have fun sharing our RC adventures!

2. Dismiss Notice

ECM Linux mini how to

Discussion in 'EMC' started by tvcasualty, Dec 8, 2008.

1. tvcasualty

tvcasualty New Member

EMC2 is a FREE open source CNC program that DOES NOT have a limit on lines of G code.
    The website it can be found on is here: http://www.linuxcnc.org/

So in reading the title most folk probably already ran for the hills. For you guys with a special PC for your CNC cutting I think this is worth trying out. If your still with me, I've been able to get over most hurdles. Here's how:

I'm no expert on Linux, or CNC for that matter, but I have learned a few tricks in the past few days.
    I'm not a big fan of windows for data loss reasons, and the ole annual reformat issue that always seems to come up so I've mostly migrated to Linux.
    I particularly like the Ubuntu brand, as it makes things as easy as possible.

This is relevant because it caused me problems when I tried to use EMC2.
    I've already had Ubuntu installed, so the first issue I ran into was that the Kernel was incorrect. DON'T PANIC!!
    Like most things in Linux this is an easy fix (once you know how). Linux installs multiple Kernels and they can be swapped when you boot up. This is NOT something you normally mess with so it threw me for a loop.

If you are new to Linux, and you download the EMC LIVE CD, from LinuxCNC.org which is bootable, you should not run into this issue since it will do a fresh install and should install only the RTI Kernel. NOTE: I have now tested this on a Dell Optiplex SX260 Computer and it was flawless. (I have found the EMC RTI Kernel to be lacking for doing other sorts of computing in the past.)

Part 1 install Linux

As I use Ubuntu for my primary OS, installing Ubuntu and then EMC2 is very straight forward. If you've ever installed windows, Linux is a cake walk one you get one concept: