1. Hey guyz. Welcome to the All New Phlatforum!

The Phlatforum is a place we can all hang out and

have fun sharing our RC adventures!

2. Dismiss Notice

How to connect pushrods

Discussion in 'General Talk Forum' started by TigerPilot, Sep 10, 2011.

1. TigerPilot

TigerPilot Well-Known Member

I'm new to the foam aspect of the hobby. I know how to do the pushrods in the big planes but not in the tiny ones.

I read Crash mentioning to use carbon rods but how do you connect them to the control horns? You can't make a z-bend in them.

What do you do so that they will not bend when they push the controlled surface? I didn't see anyone using support for the pushrods. Crash mentioned 1mm rods. I bought 1.2mm.

I tried to glue the carbon spars with hotglue into the slots but it doesn't hold. The surface of the rods is so smooth it didn't stick. I guess if I use a lot of glue it will hold but that will defeat the objective to keep the weight down. What is the most common way of doing it? Using epoxy?

Some pics will be great.

2. Orion13

Orion13 Member

I cut control horns out of light plywood and just cut a slot in the foam and glue them in. You can't bend carbon rods in a z to make the ends. What I do is take shrink wrap and wire to make the ends. Use wire to make the connection to the control horn in a z bend and then use shrink wrap to connect the wire to the carbon rod. In the past I have even used thread to wrap/tie the metal push rod to the carbon rod and then glued it.

The glue you use on foam depends on the type of foam you are using. I really like welder's glue. I get it from Lowe's and it is in a 2 pack with a red label. It is great on EPP foam. It will melt other types of foam. This glue also makes great hinges on EPP.

Gregg

3. SilverFox

SilverFox Member