1. Hey guyz. Welcome to the All New Phlatforum!

The Phlatforum is a place we can all hang out and

have fun sharing our RC adventures!

2. Dismiss Notice

Newbie questions..

Discussion in 'General Phlatprinter 3 Chat' started by ddurant, Sep 2, 2011.

1. ddurant

ddurant New Member

Howdy. Newbie here, with some questions..

MakerFaire NYC: any chance Phlatboyz is going? I'd love to see one of these machines in person..

Acrylic/plexiglass: I registered here expecting to find a bazillion questions about this since it seems like some people are doing it and a Phlatprinter is waaaay cheaper/bigger-format than, say, a laser. The comments are a bit conflicting on this - from "stupid people" to "amazing!" Is there a general consensus on cutting/etching these kinds of material?

Electronics: have people looked at using things like RAMPS, which has gotten quite popular with the home 3D printer crowd? I have an Ultimaker with RAMPS and it's quite nice. Are there obvious reasons why something like this wouldn't work well on a Phlatprinter-type machine?

Noise: is there anything to be done for the high-rpm cutters or is the whine just an unavoidable fact of life?

Thanks!!

2. kram242

kram242 Administrator Staff Member

Hello ddurant and welcome to the Phlatforum! :D

We would love to go to Makerfair in NYC but, unfortunately, we're not going to be able to make it this year, to do the show at least. It would be awesome to go and check everything out though.