1. Hey guyz. Welcome to the All New Phlatforum!

The Phlatforum is a place we can all hang out and

have fun sharing our RC adventures!

2. Dismiss Notice

Using SketchUcam with a really big CNC Machine

Discussion in 'General Talk Forum' started by Hedogold, Apr 20, 2015.

1. Hedogold

Hedogold New Member

I am quite new to the Forum, i have registered a while ago but haven´t been active since - also i am not a very good Forum Member, as often the amount of stuff on forums is to much for me. And also i am not a native English Speaker.

Here is the thing: I am a Carpenter (or Joyner / Kitchen and Cabinet Maker) and since January i am partly in a small Joynery where we have an old CNC Machine (+/- 15 years old)
    Since i have joined i have been looking for a Software to use with it (long story behind that, they have been using it for stairs and have had a special Software for that which directly communicated with the Machine) We are using the machine very rarely and if so we have to gerenate the GCode by Hand - using Norton Commander and a VERY old Dos PC!!! They have a few old PC´s in Store if the current one breaks!

I have a few Options for Software, but that is really expensive and for a small Business not affordable. So i remebered that i found something once, as i am a big fan of Sketchup, and i really use it a lot.

I am fully aware, that this Forum ist more for like RC but as far as i can see the Plugin for Sketchup is great! It really does what i need - output the drawn stuff into GCode with a .cnc

I will keep you updated on how things went. If anyone is intersted feel free to contact me with anything. Also if anyone wants to drop by, we are located a few km south of Stuttgart / Germany.

To the Machine: it is a SCM Record2 with a NUM750 and a Table with roughly 5 Meters by 1,2 Meters.

2. swarfer

swarfer Moderator Staff Member

HI
    Welcome to the forums!